Rockitten
Taxes haven't been filed
written on Wednesday, Apr. 23, 2003 at 1:01 a.m.

Gah. I can't believe it is 1 am already. I guess that's what happens when you sleep til fucking 2 pm.

And tomorrow it's back to work. Closing, again. Because that's the retail spirit -- if someone calls off, punish them by giving them the ultimate shit schedule. How long they remain on USS depends on how fucked over/pissed off you were when they called in.

I'm pretty sure it's in a retail management handbook somewhere.

* * *

I signed up for Virtual Assistants today. Wish I could have my $30 back. Who knew you needed both experience AND references to sit on your ass and enter data. I mean, really -- a typing test I can see. But it's hardly rocket science.

So, yeah. Nothing there is of any use to me. Any experience/references I SHOULD'VE had are shot to shit because I either called in too much, quit with no notice... or in one case, didn't quit at all. Just stopped showing up.

On the bright side, Boy and I took a Brainbench test and passed it with flying colors. ALMOST at a master's level.

See? See, all you stupid experience-and-reference-wanting-employers? I AM competent. The test says so!

* * *

Oh... and we got a letter today from H&R Block saying our taxes HAVE NOT BEEN FILED. Um, excuse me? My taxes have not been filed? *checks date* Why yes, they are indeed a WEEK late now.

When I called to find out why, they couldn't tell me. Then called later to say it's because my name and SSN don't match. Apparently the moron at the Social Security office that told me it would be updated in the system within 48 hours was WRONG WRONG WRONG, and it wasn't. She said she would try again and call back. She didn't.

Spiffy. I've been sitting here waiting for our tax return to flitter into the checking account, and it hasn't even been processed yet. Our trip to Huntington is in less than a week, and it's very doubtful it will arrive before then. So that means no fun for me. Nope, none at all. No shopping, no eating out, no going to the movies -- nothing. We'll end up sitting at the in-laws, staring at the wall cause we have no TV in our room.

*spit* I hate bureaucracy.

Love,

Cat

Previous - Next

Me - Now - Old stuff - Old Journal - E-mail Me - Notes - Surveys - Fans - Rings - Host - Design

Site Meter