Rockitten
What are you doing?
written on Saturday, Apr. 19, 2003 at 10:32 p.m.

Picture it: I'm standing there at a register with a big fat CLOSED sign on it. I was helping a cashier wrap a purchase while I waited for another to finish a return so I could sign for it when I hear "What are you doing?" in the most snarky, rude, too-big-fer-yer-britches tone imaginable.

Thinking they must be referring to someone else, I didn't even look up. Then the same voice repeated "WELL?" This time I looked up, only to discover this man was, in fact, speaking TO ME.

The rest of the conversation goes like this:

Me: Um, excuse me?

Him: I SAID what are you DOOOINNNG? Are you going to ring me up or not?

Me: This register is closed, sir. That cashier, over there, with no customer in line, will be able to assist you.

Him: This store is set up the STUPIDEST fucking way ever.

Me: *blink blink*

ACK. I mean, really. ACK. First of all, I think it was obvious what I was doing. I was wrapping a big ugly ceramic rooster. Second of all, the sign clearly says CLOSED. And last, but definitely most important, WHO THE FUCK DID HE THINK HE WAS?

I mean, in the world of rude customers, this guy barely makes a blip on the radar. But it just really irritated me. I HATE presumptive people, and he was obviously PRESUMING I had some intention on ringing him up. I did not.

But that's okay, cause a funny boy hit me on the tail with a feather duster. And that made it all better.

Love,

Cat

Previous - Next

Me - Now - Old stuff - Old Journal - E-mail Me - Notes - Surveys - Fans - Rings - Host - Design

Site Meter