Rockitten
Miss Manners
written on Monday, May. 05, 2003 at 5:24 p.m.

Dear Miss Manners:

As the matron of honor, is it my obligation to listen to hours of endless blather about wedding plans? See, I'm just not sure how much longer I can hold out before I start symbolically burning copies of Martha Stewart Weddings.

Impatiently awaiting your reply,

Frazzled Matron of Honor, Esq.

Seriously. As of late, I don't even want to call Nikki anymore. The conversations go like this:

Nikki: "I'm like $1,800 short of having all the money I need."

Me: "That really sucks. Hopefully Anal Andy will give you some more. So how's your sister doing? When's her next check up?"

Nikki: "Fine I guess. So here's the list of things I still need to buy. [Insert really long list here]."

Me: "Wow. That's a lot! [Insert attempt to change topic here.]"

Her: "[Insert small answer to question, change topic back to wedding.]"

At first I was interested in all of it. Weddings are exciting. At first. Then they get boring. Then REALLY boring.

I had to draw the line when she said she planned to buy 50 champagne glasses for the reception. And keep them all. First, she won't be serving champagne. And second, Anal Andy won't let her drink at all.

50 Champagne glasses. FIFTY. No one needs to keep 50 Champagne glasses. Even if you do plan to use them at the parties you never have, to serve the alcohol you're not allowed to drink.

50 people wouldn't fit in a mobile home, anyway.

[/snarky bad friend rant]

Love,

Cat

Previous - Next

Me - Now - Old stuff - Old Journal - E-mail Me - Notes - Surveys - Fans - Rings - Host - Design

Site Meter