Rockitten
Bank Fucking
written on Thursday, May. 22, 2003 at 10:59 a.m.

I really hate leaving messages for people and having to wait for them to call back. I think it's a deep-seeded control issue. Ya know? If you don't leave a message, then you're free to call them back at will -- but if you DO, you're at their mercy.

This is particularly troublesome when said person holds your financial future in their hands. Okay -- so it's not THAT dire. BUT I do need to know if she can get those damned fees reversed so we don't lose over $100 to a stupid new bank rule when she said she could/would take care of it.

I won't even say how much we've given this bank in fees. It's obscene. Should never be spoken of in mixed company. The first time, it was totally my fault. Don't record expensive brake work on car = over draw account. The second time was when our check card was stolen. Fully NOT our fault, yet the money was never refunded. Then this time... okay, so we did put Boy's check in a day too late, and fully deserved the first 3 fees that were charged us. However, after that the money was in the bank. But since they weren't calling it the "available balance", they charged us fees for it. While the entire time it was showing up on-line as our account being positive.

This policy is brand-spanking new. Essentially, it's an underhanded way of posting debits before credits. They post PART of your credit first, and then all the debits. Leaving you FUCKED if you have more debits than the little bit of credit they post. {Confused? I know I am!}

And in an effort to ensure they fuck you as raw as possible, they post all charges in order from largest to smallest. This depletes your account ASAP, and therefore there are more charges to fine you for. {Example: Had they posted from smallest to largest, we would've only been fined 1 time. Since they didn't, we were fined 3 times. Total cost to us? An extra $60 in fees.}

I know a lot of banks do these things. Perhaps even most banks. BUT this bank formerly did not. {I can't say for sure about the order in which they post things, but a branch manager actually admitted the policy of not counting all your credits before debits is brand spanking new.}

This policy has, to date, cost us $178, not including the charges we were given that we actually deserved. $58 of that has been reversed, but there is still $120 being held out of our account in fees.

I am hesitant to post the name of the bank here, as I'm sure it would make for a very lovely liability suit. If you're just sparking curious, or wondering if you're getting jacked yourself, e-mail me. I'd be happy to tell you.

Or just look for me outside a bank in Columbus holding a picket sign. I may be forced to take that sort of action if this matter doesn't get resolved soon.

And after all this typing, she still hasn't returned my call. GAH.

Love,

Cat

Previous - Next

Me - Now - Old stuff - Old Journal - E-mail Me - Notes - Surveys - Fans - Rings - Host - Design

Site Meter